Seems interesting and all. But I think that posting the rules before letting everyone choose a deckmaster will avoid a lot of misunderstandings and will overall be more fair to everyone because they can then base theire choise of of the knowledge they have.
I have once seen someone play with deckmaster rules on dn before. As far as I can remembere, these are some rules:
The deckmaster cannot be from the extra deck.
The deckmaater will be removed from play untill the player decides to summon the deckmaster.
Someone's deckmaster can be summoned at any time during either players turn (only exception being the damage step of an attack).
The deckmaster can be summoned inheretly or as a response to anything (except for counter traps).
The summon of the deckmaster cannot be negated (spell speed 4).
The deckmaster can be used as synchro/fusion/xyz material. Making the synchro/fusion/xyz monster summoned using the deckmaster your new deckmaster.
WHEN THE DECKMASTER LEAVES THE FIELD, YOU AUTOMATICLY LOSE THE DUEL (except for when it is used as a synchro/fusion/xyz material).
VERY IMPORTANT: according to the rule above, the deckmaster cannot be used for a tribute summon,making you lose the game.
That last rule seems pretty obvious right? It was the same as in the anime..
However, this rule does concern me about certain monsters.
Just some examples.
Assault Modes.. Could the deckmaster be tributed for an ""assault summon""?
Because, assault mode is basicly that same monster in a different form..
What about Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon. It has an effect to remove itself from the field, but after that it returns to the field.
Could it be used on a deckmaster to make your opponent lose?
What about those kind of effects in general? Effects that remove a certain monster(s) from the field, for it to be returned later on..
Cards like GEPD, Interdimensional Matter Transport, Shooting Star Dragon, Red Nova Dragon, the effects of the Majestic synchros that return themselves to the extra deck for theire non-majestic forms to be summoned..
Stardust Dragon? Stardust Assault (if the deckmaster can be used for an ""assault summon"" anyway..)..
The rule that a DM to be used as synchro/fusion/xyz material, will that rule apply in this tournament?
It should.. If not, decks that depend on xyz/synchro/fusion summons heavily, using only weak monsters in the deck would have a major disadvantage.
In general, I think that posting the rules before the tournament begins could and would be more fair to all of us.
What about superpoly??????
If your DM is used as a material for your opponents superpoly,...
Can that even be possible?
IMO I don't think that superpoly can target a DM. Because then your opponents fusion monster would basicly be your DM.. But your opponent controls it..
For you to attack your opponent directly, you have to destroy your own DM.
Can the control of a DM be switched?
Regarding the rule that says "The summon of the DM cannot be negated.", could the synchro/fusion/xyz summon of a synchro/fusion/xyz using the DM as one of its materials be negated?
I can go on and on for a long time but I have said enough already.
Using DMs causes alot of problem where you (brandy) as a hoster of the tourney should be responsible for to solve..
Also I think that 1 day of preparation for a tourney that uses DMs is not nearly long enough.
People that have never had experiencw with DMs should have enough time to ask about any situation they can think of regarding DMs so they can make a better descision of what card they should use as DM.
Nothing personal or something but I don't think that you thought about all of this..
So in short (trollface :p), it should be better for everyone yo know the DM rules and ask enough questions before the tournament begins.
Again, sorry brandy if I offended you but you have not put enough time into this thing in my opinion.
Going my way!! Cut open a path an go!!